WTTC Announces Panel of International Experts for 2009 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards


WTTC Announces Panel of International Experts for 2009 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

December 10, 2008 – London, UK – The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) recently announced the Judges for the 2009 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, WTTC’s high-profile sustainable tourism accolade, in association with Travelport and The Leading Travel Companies Conservation Foundation.

The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are presented annually to organisations pioneering responsible tourism management and helping to improve the livelihoods of communities in host destinations through sustainable tourism development. The Awards have gained international recognition thanks to a rigorous judging process, including an on-site verification for all finalists.

Costas Christ, Chairman of the Panel and internationally acclaimed expert in sustainable tourism, said: “The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are truly a global recognition of best practices in sustainable tourism. Not only does our diverse panel of judges represent a high level of Travel & Tourism expertise, but they also represent countries from all around the world.”

The judges on the Finalist Selection Committee for 2009 are:

Dr Peter Burns, Professor, Centre for Tourism Policy Studies, University of Brighton
Tony Charters, Principal, Tony Charters & Associates
Erika Harms, Executive Director of Sustainable Development, United Nations Foundation
Marilú Hernández, President, Fundacion Haciendas del Muno Mayas
Dr Janne J Liburd, Associate Professor, University of Southern Denmark & Chair, BEST Education Network
Brian Mullis, President, Sustainable Travel International
Mahen Sangkhrajka, Chairman, Big Five Tourism and Expeditions
Kaddu Sebunya, Director of Program Design, Africa Wildlife Foundation
Mandip Singh Soin FRGS, Founder & Managing Director, Ibex Expeditions (P) Ltd
Jamie Sweeting, Vice President of Environmental Stewardship & Global Chief Environmental Officer, Royal Caribbean International
Albert Teo, Managing Director, Borneo Eco Tours
Michelle White, Director of Sustainability, Indigo Books and Music Inc

This internationally acclaimed panel includes representatives of both the public and private sectors, as well as media and academia. Its members will review and select a shortlist of finalists in each of the four Award categories to move to the second stage of the judging process, during which on-site inspections will take place. Following the third stage of judging, a final Panel will choose the winner for each category.

Members of the Winners’ Selection Committee are:

Costas Christ, Chairman of Judges, Tourism for Tomorrow Awards
Graham Boynton, Group Travel Editor, Telegraph Media Group
Fiona Jeffery, Chairman, World Travel Market & Just A Drop

The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are endorsed by WTTC Members and other organisations. Sponsors include Travelport and The Leading Travel Companies Conservation Foundation, Fairmont Hotels & Resorts and Rothschild Inc. Media partners include BBC World, Breaking Travel News, e-Turbo News, greentravelguides.tv, Meltwater News, National Geographic Adventure, Newsweek, Telegraph Media Group, Travel Weekly UK, USA Today and 4hoteliers. Contributors are Adventure in Travel Expo, BEST Education Network, the Rainforest Alliance, Sustainable Travel International, the World Heritage Alliance, Reed Travel Exhibitions and World Travel Market.

For more information about the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, please call Susann Kruegel, WTTC’s Manager e-Strategy and Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, on +44 (0) 20 7481 8007 or contact her by email at susann.kruegel@wttc.org. You can also check out the website: www.tourismfortomorrow.com

Leave a Reply